Budweiser 2016 Redesign

myfopinion budweiser 2016 redesign.jpg

First Bud Light (http://on.fb.me/1QZ5GWK), and now Budweiser, the two buds of Anheuser-Busch are getting a makeover.

With this new look  #Budweiser aims to compete against the rise of craft beer and show that they are ‘Brewed the Hard Way.’ it was created by the agency jones knowles ritchie and the typographer Ian Brignell, the same dynamic duo that created the new Bud Light identity.

In case you didn’t know, Budweiser is one of the hardest beers to produce (30 days), so in order to reflect that level of care, detail, and attention that goes into the beer, they spent twice as long drawing every piece of type and symbol by hand before being applied digitally. It took roughly two years to complete the whole new look, and I think it was worth it.

The design is basically the same Bud Light’s: a beautiful and oversized “AB” crest, one main color, a new logotype and a lot of typographies; therefore it looks great. The new logo features a new fluid script wordmark that is perfectly made and paired with a simpler version of the classic bow tie, which lets the typography shine by itself. The only thing that I don’t like about it is how the “r” interacts with the bow, it is not inside nor outside the line, it just needed a little push to the right to let the letter breath like the “B” and “d”, other than that it is really well done.

And what can I say about the packaging, I really love it, the oversized crest and the usage of the complementary colors is great, but if I have to change some things, I would change the cropped “Anheuser-Busch” from the bottom of the can and the not cropped crest of the bottle, I would have liked to see the same cropped format in the bottle labels, but I mean, it looks fine anyway. And OMG, the aluminum bottle is my favorite thing, I would buy a six pack even though I don’t drink beer.

Nice Job designers!

Leave a Reply

