Graphic Designer Gift-Wraps

With less than 2 days for Christmas, I’m sure that more than one is going crazy making some last minute gift shopping, but if you are like me and you have already bought them, you have entered phase two of the gift experience: “The wrapping”. So here are some ideas of how to wrap your gifts in a very special design-ish way. (Warning: These are not the typical DIY Pinterest wrapping ideas, these are actually graphic designer wrapping concepts)

“The Wrapping” can become a nightmare when you are a graphic designer because as designers we are always trying to buy the best designed products, but when it comes to buying wrapping paper and gift bags we all know is so hard to find that one that can fulfill our designer’s expectations without the bad typography arrangements, ugly illustrations or repetitive clichés; but let’s be honest we don’t have to suffer for those ugly papers, we are graphic designers! We can make our own, and that’s exactly what these 3 designers did.

Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 0

In order of how I found them: The first one is Derek Kim – AKA Network Osaka, “an artist, art director, designer, illustrator and lots of other things” (as he describes himself) who lives in San Francisco, California. Derek says that because he couldn’t find the proper gift-wrap for his friends and family he decided to create his own, and as you can see, it turned out really nice. And I’m sure all the stereotypical designers will love his minimalist and 2-color silkscreen wrapping paper.

Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creativeWrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 2Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 3

The second idea, and my favorite one, is from the designer Sheila Wong, who decided to get some inspiration from the grocery store to wrap her Christmas presents.

“I’ve tried to wrap our holiday gifts in unusual ways, just to mix things up a bit,” Wong says. “It’s fun because the reactions I usually get are, ‘What the f#$% is that?!’ or ‘I need to know what’s in this!'” 

The story behind this cool wrapping idea is very simple: It all started when she saw some yellow construction paper lying around her place and it reminded her of butter, so she started with that idea to the point that she ended up designing her own local market logo to use it instead of labels. So as you can see this could have been a Pinterest DIY moment, but she decided to turn it into something more amazing with her label and logo design. (The photos are horrible, but the idea is nice)

P.S. Sheila is so nice that you can download the designs from here.

Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 10Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 13Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 16Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 14Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 15Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 12Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 17

And the last one, for not least important is from Gift Couture, a start-up company that offers coordinated wrapping paper lines created by designers Sarah Fay&Justin Colt. This wrapping papers are so perfect! They are like the mass production evolution from the Sheila Wong idea. You can buy the complete set of the burger, pizza or steak design that includes some sheets of wrapping paper, boxes, labels and trays, depending of which one you buy.

Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 9Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 5Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 8Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 4Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 7Wrap it like a designer myfopionion my f opinion christmas wrappin paper network osaka sheila wong gift couture creative 6

So here are my final thoughts, and because it’s holiday season I will not say something mean, instead I’m going to give you 3 lessons I learned from these 3 designers and their wrapping papers.

1.- Simplicity always works, we can still have the Christmas spirit without the candy canes, snowflakes and Santa Clauses. (Sorry anti Starbucks people).

2.- Inspiration comes from everywhere, don’t be afraid to explore new ideas and remember to always  give a little extra.

3.- Little ideas can become big business. They are selling designer wrapping paper!! Really? I should be selling something instead of writing. jk, I’ll be here for a while.

But well… at least this is my f “holiday “opinion

 

 

 

One thought on “Graphic Designer Gift-Wraps

Leave a Reply

