Bienal Comunicación – Yucatán, Mex.

Bienal Comunicación is a creative studio founded in 2006 in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico; dedicated to build brands and create links through communication, “with the firm commitment to make functional, built-in, high quality, innovative, passionate and transcendent work. ” What a description, right?, but don’t think that I wrote that, I took it directly from their website, somewhat generic and common for a for creative agency definition, but that’s not the point of this post.

I’m really happy to find new creative agencies outside the big cities of Mexico, like Estudio Yeyé from Chihuahua, and now Bienal Comunicación from Yucatan. I have to be honest with you, the truth is that I had already seen some of their projects and I had liked them, but there wasn’t the wow factor that I’m always looking for, until now.

The most common way to present graphic design projects is with photographs that clearly show the final results and materials of the brands, and of course it is a great method to expose the work of the agencies, there are even some of them that have taken this photos to another level by adding elements like fire, water, smoke, etc. However, this is not the only way to showcase a project and Bienal Comunicación knows it.

This Yucatan agency presents most of its projects with a video, something that I hadn’t seen in the portfolios of the agencies, usually there are always pictures and gifs, or very rarely a video if the project needs, but Bienal Comunicación doesn’t create these videos because the projects require it, but for the joy of showing their work in a different way, and that’s why I love it.

These videos show in an entertaining and clear way the concept of each brand, plus they help to better understand the outcome of the project, and I really like that they are not the typical videos of people holding something showing the logo, or zooms in the business cards, no, on the contrary, they are kind of experimental and very interesting to watch, they show you and make you feel part of the world of each brand (of course some are better than others). My favorites are the one of “Pico de Gallo”, “Pilgreen” second 00:37, the beginning of “Rice” and “JCZoreda Arquitecturartesanal”.

I think here is the differentiator of the agency, the way they present their projects with videos and animations can be the agency’s strength. They should concentrate on making these videos perfect for each brand, and even remake some of the ones they already have, in order to create iconic pieces that can represent the agency. Videos that can easily explain the concept of each brand while showcasing the final results of the project. And please keep including the logo at the end of the videos, not only like a credit, but as part of the brand like at the end of the video of “Rice” where the B symbol is incorporated into the pattern, with that you are saying “we are part of this” instead of a “we did this”. Oh wait! Just a quick tip, I know I just said that the videos are a great way to showcase the work, but please improve your photographs, they are kind of student-ish, so basic and plain that don’t highlight the great job you are doing. (Like the first photos of Firmalt, remember?)

But well.. at least this is my f opinion.

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 3jpg

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 7

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 4

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 5

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 8

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 9

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 1

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 2jpg

Bienal Comunacion mexico agency studio creative my f opinion 6

Leave a Reply

