Helvetimart – By Anagrama

“Helvetimart” is a specialty market in Zürich, Switzerland that offers a wide variety of regional food products.  Our branding proposal was heavily inspired by the… And that’s all. Wait, what? Yeap, that’s all you will find on the internet because this project was uploaded by Anagrama in the past weeks and 3 minutes later it was deleted from Facebook and her webpage (that’s why the images aren’t hd), Why? It is a mystery, but fortunately I’m here to tell you what I remember reading. I feel like those celebrity reporters that talk about the bad tweets celebrities erase.

Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 6

The name is inspired by Helvetia the female national personification of Switzerland, just like their other Swiss project “Helvetia Trust“, so creatives… It is written with the bold “Zapf Renaissance” typography, if I’m not wrong, and it is also written with a big kerning problem, look at the space between the L-V-E, I can fit an elephant right there (jk). This wordmark is accompanied with the symbol of the brand, which is an abstract version of the Cornucopia, also known as the Horn of Abundance

Across the whole identity a geometric pattern is used, but unfortunately I can’t remember its inspiration, but it is everywhere, in the cards, invitations, in very cool cut outs, and packaging; and since the market specializes in regional food they created an abstract and simple version of each region’s flag that are placed on the packaging to indicate the area of each product.

But to be honest, I still don’t get how this packaging designs works, let’s suppose I go to the market and I buy a cheese and a wine bottle, so instead of just putting them in a bag and leave, I have to wait the cashier to put them in the box, tie it with this beautiful black bow and paste the stickers of the regions? Not so practical, it must be a very exclusive and expensive market.

So, final thoughts? Nice design, not fan of the logotype, great way to simplify the flags and indicate the regions, and clever use of the pattern, those cut outs are great! but the main thing here is… WHY?! Why did they delete this project? Maybe because the name is almost the same as their other project or maybe because it wasn’t ready yet? Idk, mistake or not, I’m just sharing what they uploaded

But well.. at least this is my f opinion.

Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 13 Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 3 Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 12 Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 11 Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 10 Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 8Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 5Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 9Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 4Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 1 Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 7  Helvetimart  Anagrama my f opinion branding 2

Leave a Reply

