Yeezy Display – By Tyler Finc

“Sometimes I get emotional over fonts” That’s what Kanye West said and Tyler Finck, an American type designer, took advantage of this tweet and decided to create a typography specially designed for the man of Kim K.

Tyler Finck is a type designer whose fonts have been used by Harper Collins, E! Entertainment, Zipcar, Modern Times Brewery, Zappos, Threadless, Discovery Channel, and the twitter account for President Obama. Finck says that his goal “has always been to make unique type experiences that are a little different from what everyone else is doing”.

Yeezy Display - By Tyler Finc my f opinion typography 5

Yeezy Display (Yeezy is Kanye’s nickname if you didn’t know) is a headline font that is big, bold, and polarizing as Kanye West (at least that’s what Tyler says). The typography is stencil-ready, and has three alternates per character with hard edges, round corners, and punctuations for latin-based languages.

Well, and now after all this explanation that comes from the designer’s website, here is what I think. First, if Kanye buys this font I will be shocked, I’m not sure if he would buy it for the price of $50,000 dollars (smart designer), and not because it is a low price, I mean, I’m sure baby North’s fur coat is more expensive than that, but if I was Kanye I will create my own font, so Kanye…

But putting aside my Kanye dreams and talking about design, for me the type isn’t something out of this world. I find interesting that the characters have 3 different versions which make it more special, but I also find it a little difficult to read, of course it is a typography for short sentences, but for me some letters are too abstract that sometimes they lose their form like and that makes it harder to read it fluently. But that’s what I think, if Kanye likes it perhaps he can use it in the cover of his next album, which is what the designer wants (besides the money for his wedding of course).

But well.. at least this is my f... Yo! Yo!, Mr. F, I’m really happy for you, I’ma let you finish, but…

Yeezy Display - By Tyler Finc my f opinion typographyYeezy Display - By Tyler Finc my f opinion typography 2Yeezy Display - By Tyler Finc my f opinion typography3 Yeezy Display - By Tyler Finc my f opinion typography 4 Yeezy Display - By Tyler Finc my f opinion typography 6

Leave a Reply

