McBike – by Tribal Buenos Aires

McBike is the name of the new Mcdonald’s packaging for all the bikers out there who want a Big Mac on the go. The packaging was created by the digital agency ‘Tribal Buenos Aires’ located in Argentina, and headquarters of ‘Tribal WorldWide,’ interactive agency with 60 offices in 38 countries.

As we already saw, this year the most famous American hamburger chain redesigned its image (take a look http://bit.ly/1yzQAOb), and as a part of this change it is now launching a packaging to stand out from its new competitors like ‘Chipotle’ and targeting a new market: young adults who use bikes instead of cars to get to their places and care about the environment, which I think is weird because I don’t think this kind of people eat at McDonald’s, but I don’t wanna generalize, not all the bikers are cool hipsters like the ones in the video. The project was first launched in a one-day event in Copenhagen, Denmark as well as in Medellin, Colombia, and is coming soon to Amsterdam and Japan.

But putting aside the launching and target audience, let’s talk about the design. The box is made of recycled cardboard and was created specifically so it can be easily hung on the handlebars of the bike, it consists of two compartments, one for fries and one for the burger (a small one I guess) that when closed they leave a space in the bottom for the drink so it won’t spill. Very cool right? Well I don’t think so, here is why …

I do not know if you remember that like a year and a half ago a packaging redesign for Mc Donald’s created by a student went viral in various digital media? Well… that design is almost identical to the one the house of Ronald McDonald is now launching.The concept was created by the British designer Rob Bye with the aim of reducing packaging waste. The design consisted of two compartments, one for fries and one for the burger that when closed they give support to the drink section located aside. Furthermore the packaging could be opened only from the fries section so you can eat them without opening it completely, extra points for that. +1

So, what do you think? It’s very strange that both are very veery veeeery similar, I hope that at least the student’s work was the inspiration for this project, and that the agency does not feel that they created something from another world.

But well.. at least this is my f opinion.

McBike Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds 7

McBike Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds 6

McBike Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds 5

McBike Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds 8

McBike Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds 9

McBike Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds 4

McBike Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds 3

mcdonalds

McBike Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds 1

Rob Bye Design

redesign packaging Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds Rob Bye 1redesign packaging Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds Rob Byeredesign packaging Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds Rob Bye 5redesign packaging Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds Rob Byeredesign packaging Tribal Buenos Aires my f opinion mcdonalds Rob Bye 4

Leave a Reply

