The Secret Donut Society By José & Ceci

“The Secret Donut Society” is a donut shop located in San Pedro, Nuevo Leon, Mexico, designed by Ceci Peralta and José Velazquez, two independent graphics designers of that city. 

From the name to the graphics, the brand revolves around the concept of mystery and secrecy. In order to maintain the ‘underground’ essence of the brand the designers decided to make the shop a kind of secret club inspired by the famous societies of Freemasonry and Illuminati, reflected in its language and graphics. A very different concept from what we are used to seeing in the donut shops, but that really works and makes them differentiate themselves from the commercial style of their competitors, right Krispy Kreme?

The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 13

Before beginning, I want you to know that the concept of the brand is also used in the sales strategy, the designers don’t mention it in the project description, but I have experienced it and I want to tell you that so far nobody knows who bakes those donuts, and I think that secret and mystery is the most important part of the brand’s success. (and of course its fatty and delicious donuts)

Now, to the graphic design. For me the importance of the whole identity lies in the symbolism and language they used, because you have to agree that the packaging is the easiest and simplest thing in the world and although the typographic selection of the logo is good and gives an actual touch to the brand, I think that by itself it wouldn’t be as strong as with all the other elements.

What makes this brand different, as I said it before, are its illustrations and patterns, they managed to gather all the clichés of secret societies in one place and with one playful style, style that in conjunction with the blue color softens all this underground and black mood of secret societies, after all it is a donut shop. 

The work of the icons/illustrations is excellent, the only problem I have is with the icons of the kitchen stuff like the beater and roller (which i don’t like graphically, maybe its to big in comparison with the others) because I feel that they’re just there doing nothing, just making the reference of the bakery. I would like to see those elements interacting or doing something more such as the donut does, I really liked how the donut is treated as sacred symbol and coexists with the other elements, and it isn’t just pasted there as the other ones.

Another thing that I liked and I applaud to them is the language with which they wrote everything, I love that most of the text is in the Old English style as the poems I used to read in high school, and btw the manifesto of the donut is very clever. They indeed created a society that is growing really fast. (P.S. If you want to send me a box i don’t mind, jk)

But well.. at least this is my f opinion.

The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 17 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 2 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 6 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 7 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 5The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 12 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 10The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 1The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 11 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 15 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 13 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 14 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 4 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 16 The Secret Donut Society my f opinion monterrey 9

Leave a Reply

