Sabor a Miel – By Futura

Futura, an independent design studio based in Monterrey Mexico, uploaded a new project to its portfolio this week and is somewhat surprising. The project is called “Sabor a Miel” (from the Mexican bolero song “Sabor a Mi”), a real estate development located in Playa del Carmen where the main protagonist is the Caribbean Sea turquoise and that conveys the feeling of relaxation, barefoot and cocktail evenings with friends.

Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 10

Remember this post where I said that maybe this agency only had one face? (http://bit.ly/1xaUYO4) Well, apparently they read it and wanted to keep my mouth shut with this new work. But I’m sorry, you did surprise me in a good way, but I’ll keep speaking my mind. I’m really surprised at how this project doesn’t scream Futura, and I’m not saying it’s bad, on the contrary, I think it’s great that it doesn’t because they are showing us that their designs go beyond geometric figures and dark colors.

So, I have two theories for this: Maybe there is a new inter or designer in da house or… they just wanted to do something different. Who would have ever thought that they were able to use sweet typography and create those pretty icons, the mariachi one is my favorite, The only thing about those icons is that the sunglasses and seagulls break the system because they stand out from the others. (Remember I’m an icon geek)

I don’t wanna say bad things because the main reason of this post is showing that Futura isn’t a one style agency. But here is my little summary of what I think about the design: It has a very classic layout that works fine and that is modernized with the fashion girly type selections, nothing out of this world, just well made, for me a relaxed handlettering would have been a better choice; and is it me, Or the gradient wasn’t printed right? Ok, I know gradients are super hard to print so I can ignore it a little bit. And by the way, I love the gif photo, I don’t know why, but I can’t stop watching it, is a perfect spot for a photoshoot!.

But well.. at least this is my f opinion.

Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 3 Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 7Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 8Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 4  Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 5 Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 9 Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 6  Sabor a Miel - By Futura my f opinion 1

Leave a Reply

